Sex and the City II – The beautiful interiors and some dresses!

August 7, 2010

It’s a long time coming post.. and I know I know it’s been featured and discussed in almost every design spot on the web but I just couldn’t help but add my own take on it having just seen the movie a coupla nights ago.. and I know I’m late to join the party, I was just skeptical a little bit.. didn’t like the idea of a part two. I thought it’d kill it for me and I was kinda right.

Anyway, I’m still grateful for the beautiful pattern rich interiors and gorgeous dresses featured in part II and I dedicate this post to my dearest super talented Manhattan interior design friend Jospeh Stabilito who made me watch the movie :)

I’ll start with the bedroom… The Velvet Gate Tuxedo fabric from Kravet on the headboard against the Rococo Damask pattern wallpaper by Cole & Son just screams elegance and sophistication!

Not the best shot but shows more of the wallpaper.. as well as the classic Thomas O’Brien‘s Hallings Secretary from Hickory Chair

Here is the his-and-hers closet.. Less flashy than the one shown on part I and more practical with beautiful woodwork and hardware..

On to the living room that perfectly combines the different, colors, patterns, textures, and feminine-masculine style. The deep blue wool-mohair Montauk Sofa from Donghia is to die for.. Paired up with that breathtaking bright golden art above and offset with the timeless midcentury silver blue side chairs, it so elegantly anchors the space! .. Then the toning down of the cold clean lines with smooth-edged Ninfea coffee table by Poltrona Frau, the bold floral rug underneath and the bright floral Birdie Blossom Cushion by Paul Smith adds that adorable playful feminine Carrie touch.

Oh and look at the simple but creative setting on the coffee table. I love the idea of displaying books standing up! .. and that ottoman SJP is sitting on, isn’t cool?

So many things I like about the dining room.. the oxidized-metal chandelier by Property hanging above a French 1940s mahogany table from Alan Moss and the Belgravia print fabric by Lee Jofa on the chairs.. The additional lighting from the built ins and the modern aqua-blue tiles by Heath Ceramics from Ann Sacks showing behind that on the kitchen walls between white and brown cabinets… the whole combination is super elegant and well-thought-out but also very welcoming and lived-in!

More built-ins hugging the blown-glass chandelier by Lindsey Adelman Studio make a showstopper in the hallway!

This corner is absolutely divine. The victorian Oiseau in Chocolate by Katie Ridder (available through Holland & Sherry) makes a bold statement.. and don’t get me started with the beautiful two tall lamps and the added touch of that golden framed mirror. Breathtakingly glamorous!

Now leaving Carrie and Big’s apartment to Carries old space.. I’m not crazy about the blue walls but I like a few other things..

First of all how airy and vibrant it feels after the makeover from that gloomy grey or whatever color palette it had before..

The great lighting distribution, the mirrored dressing table, the whites.. and that beautiful girly area rug!

and the adorable floral seating fabric from Wolf Home..

Finally on to the supposedly-Abu Dhabi (rather Moroccan) part.. The glamour is in the colors… So bright and fun in every corner it makes you smile!

The chandelier..

I know this is an outdoor setting but I just had to close with some dresses!

Images via Casa Sugar and ElleDecor

Leave a Reply

